Office Hours

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Meeting Times

County Commission

Mission Statement

We, the men and women of the Hancock County Commission Office, are dedicated to serving the people of our community. We are sworn to uphold the constitution of this great state and country. As your representatives, we work for you and it's our duty to have your best interest at heart. Our service is predicated on the principles of transparency and integrity.

We thank you in advance for your constructive participation in the local government process. Every citizen is a part of the makeup of Hancock County, hence E pluribus unum, meaning, out of many, one.


The County Commission is the governing body of the county, made up of three (3) commissioners one (1) elected from each of Hancock's districts (Butler, Clay, Grant). Each commissioner serves a six (6) year term.

County commissions are required by Section 9, Article 9 of the Constitution to hold four regular sessions (meetings) each. These meetings must be held at the courthouse. Special sessions may be held throughout the year if called by the president of the Commission with the concurrence of at least one other commissioner. The number of meetings held varies from county to county, with some commissions meeting once month and others several times a month. Notice of all meetings must be given and meetings are public, as required by the open meetings law, West Virginia Code ยง6-9A-3. Executive sessions may be held as authorized by law. Two commissioners in attendance at a meeting establish a quorum. At the first session of each year, the commissioners choose one of their members to serve as president.